Zines again

Source: https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/jan/13/i-read-zines-to-escape-surveillance-and-clickbait-its-the-new-teen-rebellion

The article “I read zines to escape surveillance and clickbait. It’s the new teen rebellion.” by John Revanche delighted me that there are the young generations still read zines. Based on Revanche, zine readers tend to have “more mindful and considered consumption” compared to those who read on Iphone with advertisements popped up everywhere.

I’m completely new to this teen rebellion, the ‘old media’ as mentioned is something everyone should appreciate instead of worshiping the new technology. It is true that advance technology strengthened medical field and so on, but by promoting companies in order to earn money, more money flowing into every time someone browsing Internet.

Introduced to zines by my teacher, I’m thrilled whenever the thought of creating a story and get to sketch without the expectation. My thoughts are not limit on the paper, my pen can wander wherever it want to go, and my imagination can dance wildly with black ink or color on the white pages.

I’ve never thought about zines, since I never heard it before, it is hard to not focus on the shiny metal piece called ‘phone’, but zines can help me resist my temptation. Zines are one of many ways that allow people – no matter what age or skill- can participate without being judge and they can also make a profit out of it!

 

 

Picture: CC 2.0

 

Leave a Reply

